World Premiere:
"Impression" (2018) - 63 min. work for dance and orchestra.
Commissioned by the Staatstheater Heidelberg.
With Artistic Director Iván Pérez Avilés,
United Visual Artists (stage designer),
Carlijn Petermeijer (costume designer),
Dietger Holm (music conductor) and the
Heidelberg Philharmonic Orchestra.
Starting Dec. 2018

World Premiere:
"Deus ex machina" (2017) for large Orchestra
(Episode IV of the Cyborg Tetralogy)
Commissioned by the Fundación SGAE and the AEOS
9-10-11 Feb 2018
OBC Orchestra (Barcelona)
Conductor: Kazushi Ono


World Premiere:
"Big Data" (2016) for large Orchestra
Commissioned by the Detroit Symphony Orchestra
2016-17 Season Opening Program

(...) imagined and demanding of virtuosos, Big Data – not all fast, vibrant and ricocheting, but sometimes serene and with a sense of journeying high – is twenty minutes for anyone who loves the orchestra and what it is capable of, boundless in colour and effects according to Cruixent. (...)
(Colin Anderson, journalist.

(...) On the 2016-17 season opening program September 29-30, the DSO performed the World Premiere of Big Data by Spanish composer Ferran Cruixent. Cruixent is known for his “cyber singing” concept, which combines instruments with technology. In November 2013 the DSO performed the World Premiere of his Cyborg, which incorporated the orchestra’s own cell phones into the composition using a mobile app. (...)
(DSO Press)

"Unlike anything you've ever heard."
"We're falling in love with this. This is just a terrific, wonderful new piece."

(Leonard Slatkin, conductor)

"Cruixent introduces a communications device into the orchestra, showing this way that technology combines with what we do. He calls it Cyber Singing. It’s fascinating."
(Leonard Slatkin, conductor)

"Eine neue 'Ode an die Freude', die hier das Primat des Menschen einwirbt.
Lange anhaltender, herzlicher Beifall!"

(Hans-Jürgen Thiers, journalist)

© ferrancruixent 2018